What I Ate Wednesday

I get asked all the time what I eat during a Crohn’s flare. My short answer- “not much.” Like I mentioned in my last post, eating for me is a viscous cycle- it’s necessary in order to gain nutrients but it makes me feel full and extremely bloated. (I know what you’re thinking, “I wish I had that feeling,” but if you did- you’d have Crohn’s and that would be unfortunate although we could commiserate? Think about it.)

Diet has always been a big focus in my life. I love cooking, I love vegetables, I love eating good and feeling good (ha, get it?). Unfortunately, my Crohn’s disease and vegetables (high fiber foods) are like quarreling lovers with me in the middle.

I left the hospital with orders to eat a “GI Soft” Diet. Do you know what that means? Me neither. After googling, I realized I was reading my worst nightmare. “This diet is soft in texture, low in fiber, and easy to digest. The goal is to decrease nausea, diarrhea, and gas in the bowel that may cause abdominal pain and discomfort. This diet is often used after abdominal surgery or as a transitional diet after gastroenteritis, diverticulitis or inflammatory bowel flares.” (side note- diet does NOT affect me when I am not going through a Crohn’s flare. So, totally cool I stuff my face with high fiber foods when I’m not in a flare.)

Breakfast:

1 scrambled egg with side of lox

1 scrambled egg with side of lox (soft and protein)

Lunch:

1/2 cup of lentil soup with side of white pita

1/2 cup of lentil soup (high in fiber although cooked) with side of white pita (low fiber)

Snack:

Chex Mix

chex mix (because it’s delicious)

Dinner:

Sushi: 1 tuna piece, 2 alaskan pieces

Sushi: 1 tuna & 2 alaskan pieces (soft and protein)

Miso Soup

Miso soup (because it has lots of health benefits)

Homemade Zucchini Bread

Homemade zucchini bread (because it’s delicious)

While some of my above choices might not be the healthiest (think- chex mix, zucchini bread) sometimes I get a craving for something and must jump on it. So, like, if you have a Costco membership and want to buy me lots of chex mix, I’m thinking it may cure my Crohn’s.

What’s next?

Try to eat more and regain my strength! My goal over the next couple days is to start taking walks and being able to stomach more food.

Lastly, Shoutout to my friend Rob for visiting me the last couple days, so nice to have face to face interaction with someone under 60 years old (or a cat). (no offense, mom and dad, you know I love you dearly)

IMG_3197

hi rob

XOXO,

LFK

 

Leave a Reply

